Only One Man, Nothing More and Nothing Less

One Man Today, one dear to me
Tried to slip a knife between my ribs,
Wished to cause me grief,
Sever all trust
Borne from anger and pain,
Desire for revenge carried within heavy heart.

Falling to my knees, bleeding,
Salty tears upon my cheeks,
I cried at the betrayal
From one I loved for thirty years and more—
Still love and will love forever.

Within the hour, bleeding stopped,
Tears dried, strong heart still open,
I now pray for all those who
Carry such hurt and hatred
Buried as thorns in their flesh.

I am only one man….
Nothing more and nothing less.
I offer my heart each day in prayer,
Attempt by grace to lightly walk with open heart
Wherever I go upon the Earth.

There is no shame
Refusing to live with anger
Hiding within dark cave where
Shadows keep away the healing light.
Teach me, O Great Spirit, the truth
Deep kindness teaches.

One thought on “Only One Man, Nothing More and Nothing Less

Leave a Reply

