I Believe in Those Who Wake from Dreams in Cold Sweat

I BelieveI believe that there are those who feel a tender need,
Who listen for quiet voice within the dark of night.
I believe there are men and women with sufficient faith
To let go of attachments to the past yet not know what lies ahead.
I believe there are those who have capacity for the sorrow
Required to bid goodbye and take first steps.
I believe there are those who have great hope, great fear,
Yet enough courage to be wide open to the unknown.
 
I believe in those women and men with queasy stomach,
Who wake from dreams in cold sweat, who contemplate an inner call.
I believe in those who need great challenge and discovery,
Who may be blind, yet have great vision.
I believe in those who can walk away from unsatisfied careers,
Waste their years in foolish work without greed for self.
I believe in men and women who can say “no” while also saying “yes”,
Whose faces may turn white along with hair,
 Who burn their notes to speak more clearly from the heart.

I believe in those with ashes on their foreheads,
Who kneel in empty hours of prayer.
I believe there are women and men who can forget all rules they’ve learned,
Unbound by excessive tradition, face the fears of hell and live in peace.
I believe in those with loosely grounded reason,
Feet upon the floor but soaring hearts completely open.
I believe in those who look within a mirror and see another there,
Who have compassion overflowing in salty tears….
 
And I pray in this hour for strength, for those who come in future years,
For all Creation and a Universe far beyond what we perceive or know.

Leave a Reply

