Though Tears Are Mine, I Offer You the Salt

Tears and SaltToday, I weep—-
Tears run down my face
And I do not know if it is by conscious choice
Or some burdened thorn now works its way through skin.
But I refuse to keep it private.
Though the tears are mine, I offer you the salt.
 
After all, you know our souls are linked,
Voices joined in aching, lamentation, evocation,
Touch in dark places we can only glimpse,
Hold hands as we walk our way toward Home.
Past judgment of success symbolized by stalwart trees…
Thick trunks measuring our love as rings inside the core of years.
Let us leave behind the need to count,
Walk out into thin swaying meadow grass,
Breathe in moist wind as it rises to move us and receive us.
 
Forever I seem upon the threshold of awakening,
Each day another step, pondering the morning fog,
Looking out from within this fog of life.
Is it the suffering of loss that mystifies,
Brings mist so close I cannot see the clarity?
If so, no wonder that I weep today.
 
Do you hear me?  Do you see this poem
As invitation to read, to touch my open heart?
I’m speaking to you— releasing a stream of words,
A smooth, imperfect stone… and yet so very soft,
Made precious in rippling clear mountain water,
Always slowly flowing to the deep, deep sea….

One thought on “Though Tears Are Mine, I Offer You the Salt

  1. As for “Thick trunks measuring our love as rings inside the core of years.
    Let us leave behind the need to count,
    Walk out into thin swaying meadow grass,
    Breathe in moist wind as it rises to move us and receive us.” I do love this sentence.wonderful metaphor
    .yes, a very good poetry,soft impefct stone ripple the clear water and itself flow deeply…very nice conclusion.do enjoy it! Perfect poetry!

Leave a Reply

