Never Forget You Are My Children

youngNever forget you are my children,
Each one of you bearing what I have given,
Born of my burden, resembling me.
Forgive me, for I am to blame for desire of detachment
You struggle to reach.  I cut the cord,
Though I waited until you started to breathe.

I did not tie the knot.  Someone else did that.
And someone else has tied many other knots.
Give credit where credit is due.  You were born
Desiring to separate, desiring to touch,
Desiring to suck because you were hungry….
Because you wanted to drink, though even now
You fail to ask the right questions.
No wonder you suffer alone.

Never forget you are my children,
Each one of you bearing what I have given,
Born of my burden, resembling me.
Though you may think your wounds
Are because you were not loved,
You ache because you long so much to love.

Have you forgotten how I prayed you to sleep in song?
Go ahead… weep as I now weep, knowing Earth is so sweet,
Yet you are alone, not wanting to answer the phone,
Not wanting to hear the voice that will wake you.
Even as children, when eve of midnight approached,
You put out cookies and cream,
Read letters I wrote and tried to believe
Words and stories would keep you warm.

Now there is silence, though you strain to remember the songs.
I understand where you are.  You are my children.
You yearn to take a different path,
But overcoming wounds is exhausting.
You ache because you long so much to love—
Born of my burden, resembling me more than you know.
And like me, in time you will make something of the pain.

Leave a Reply

