Giving Up on Certainty

 I’ve given up on certainty.
After hours of counting leaves
On just three branches of the
Old white oak down by the lake,
Just when I think I’ve accounted
For each and every leaf,
Along comes the wind….
Leaves go dancing in the breeze,
Some fall to their death
As again I am left in wonder.
 
How much certainty you claim
Is your own business.  I don’t care
To persuade you from your
Convictions or lack of convictions.
I only pray our point of view
Changes, grows, expands,
Breathes in the fresh air outside,
Sees the abundance of leaves
Upon quiet branches of the trees,
Hears the subtle song of the world,
And pauses with wonder
At the delicious beauty of it all.

Leave a Reply

