I Hesitate to Speak Her Name

 Yesterday I traced her name
In dust under my feet, resigned
Not to gladness but the absence
That dwells in silence of the heart.
Thank God the space within the heart is vast,
Containing all the feelings toward those we love,
Though links of chain be broken or lost.
 
There are times when I’d rather
Have her by my side than a dozen worlds at my feet,
Yet I hesitate to speak her name—-
Too strong the grief….
Now with wet tears upon the cheek
I only pray for inner peace, for both her and me.
I send forth the prayer and let it fly upon the wind,
Blown along by sorrow, never sweet
As memory of her voice or face remains,
Finished but unforgotten in the soul.

Leave a Reply

