Making the Whole World an Altar

 I have no loaf of bread,
Only crumbs and a bit of crust.
I have no wine within the glass,
Only water is left.
No pillow for my head at night.
No altar to place a candle.
 
I will raise myself
Higher than elements,
To pure splendor of the Earth,
The whole of world my round altar….
Receive my humble offering, my suffering,
My labored prayers this night.
 
I commit my very love….
Let it be consecrated, Lord, to you.
Take my hands, my feet, my remaining hours of life;
Let them be used in ceaseless praise,
Moving deep within your love.

2 thoughts on “Making the Whole World an Altar

Leave a Reply

