After All the Years We Loved

One day, when they lay you down
To your eternal rest,
If my heart still beats,
I wonder if I will taste you on my lips,
Whether I will cry and miss you
After all these years now past.
 
Just because you broke your promise
Doesn’t mean I have forgotten.
Still I think of you each day and pray,
Morning or night before I go to bed alone.
But I no longer weep before I sleep.
Photographs now divorced within the box,
Carefully wrapped in tissue paper
As is my heart within my chest.
 
Now that I grow old,
I breathe more slowly,
Look back with moment’s glance
At all the years we loved,
Cannot cry if I tried on bended knees,
Knowing both of us have truly lost.
Time and words do not heal the scars,
Only forgiveness brings deep yearning peace.

Leave a Reply

