An Empty Field But For A Singular Tree

 Last night I dreamed of an empty field,
Vague except for a singular tree.
Shadow so broad that it covered the field as snow,
As wide as the silence that reigned in the dreamy world.
 
A single moon peeked out of the clouds,
Down on the singular tree in the snow.
All was barren as silence, frail in the cold
That covered my dream as darkness covered the night.
 
Here in this fragile space was a world most unworldly.
No reference, no frame, no language
To express to the moon or the tree that stood in the field
The deep tranquility that emerged in the cold and the snow.
 
Was the gold that I saw in the sky
The sun going down or the sun on the rise?
Either way, I sensed that the moon looking down
Saw the longing of prayer in my eyes, for a minute or two,
While I dreamed in my bed, closed eyes flickering in head.
 
 

One thought on “An Empty Field But For A Singular Tree

Leave a Reply

