Mystery Hidden Within My Empty Heart

No one knew, but I held a secret.
For 400 years, my heart’s been missing…
A hidden space hollowed out within my wooden body,
While my smile imparts
Eternal enlightenment and truth.
 
Such an exciting discovery
When they discovered books
Hidden in my abdomen and chest,
Woodblock prints on white mulberry paper,
Red ink used as blood unfaded on the pages.
 
It took both x-ray and CAT scan
Before they knew for sure.
My cavity’s mystery had endured,
Ears attached with handmade nails.
Only now can someone read
What’s been hidden all these years
Within my absent heart.
When will someone know the mystery
Hidden in your heart?

One thought on “Mystery Hidden Within My Empty Heart

Leave a Reply

