I Cannot Find You Here

The evening sky does nothing
But reveal the bleak darkness of the hills,
Land yearning within the black,
Limbs of trees upraised
As they worship departing light.
Without the setting sun, I would
Never know the flame within the heart….
 
With coming of the night
Empathy grows stronger,
Stars visible as eyes, the aching Moon,
The quietness that settles on the lake,
Urgent breath upon your lips
As I hear you sigh.
 
Where are you?  I cannot find you here
Yet you are everywhere….
In darkening sky and frozen lake;
Upon solid ground and ardent trees.
I feel you in the breeze upon my cheek,
The moisture of tears, the coolness
That comes with evaporation as you
Quietly walk away and disappear.

Leave a Reply

