When Morning Comes

Tonight the clock walks
In the same circles as the moon
And the dog barks
Saying she wants a walk
Out and around and around.

The stars are not out.
It has stopped raining,
But the trees still drip upon the path.
As I look at the clock,
Notice how late the hour,
I am tired, even more tired
Knowing promises have not been kept.

Even now as I write,
The rain comes again,
Blowing across the lake in the dark
And I promise the dog
I will walk her when morning comes.

One thought on “When Morning Comes

  1. Nice to know that I’m not the only dog owner who puts off the walk when its dark and wet … you have captured that sinking, guilty feeling so well!

Leave a Reply

