Whatever The World Gives, The World Shall Take Away

Morning sunlight platforms yellow
On the hills, shrugs off deeper green;
Dominion of summer fades to fall.
There is a chill of fear in the blue air…
Should I cheer the change of season on?
Demand an explanation on behalf of
Leaves waiting on branch for white kiss of
Frost before shrugging off to find
Purpose in dust, hang snug as they
Float on outside curve of river’s current?
I remind myself to comfort myself:
There is no waste in all of
Nature’s moving graces,
As I waste whatever life I have
Opening heart to greater promise.
Whatever the world gives,
The world shall take away…

If I were the hawk that soars
Above the lake and roof,
I’d bless terrain below, swoop,
Fall in love with life, with flight,
With landscapes when viewed from
High above, even as I prepare to
Snatch a mouse to feed, oblivious to
Precision of suffering, the killing
Hubris of my plunge, the panic…
The beauty lasting even in the dying.
Whatever the world gives,
The world shall take away.

One thought on “Whatever The World Gives, The World Shall Take Away

  1. Well done, my friend.
    A wonderful complex measure…sad, joy, hope, reality and wonder.
    You are a master weaver, my friend.
    Great poem.

Leave a Reply

